Nominated for a Liebster Award


 

 

Wow, okay, this is seriously cool.

The Liebster Award is an award which is attributed to relatively unknown bloggers with less than 200 followers, and wow I still can’t believe I’m writing this but yeah, I was nominated by the excellent jcwriter678 over at Just Plain Writing, check them out and stuff and wow still not believing it.

 

The Rules

1. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.

2. Answer the ten questions which are given to you by the nominator.

3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers

4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

5. Let the nominees know they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

 

So yeah, answering the questions:

1. What is your favourite film?

Ahahaha, Lord of the Rings, hands down, for every reason in existence.

2. What is your favourite book?

See above answer. 😉

3. What country would you most like to visit in the world?

Atlantis. Oh, are we talking about real places? Okay, New Zealand. It’s got mountains and forests and deserts and fjords and is basically an entire planet squashed into 270 square kilometres of gorgeous. So, yeah.

4. What is your aim in life?

Hm. If we’re talking about plans for the future, then my plan is to move to New Zealand (for reasons previously mentioned), get a house in or on the outskirts of a forest (with possibly an astronomy tower I would use as a study or even a room that’s part treehouse), and write fantasy and science-fiction books for a living. Possibly I’d also own a ginger tabby cat named Finrod.

5. If you had a dinner party, what fictional characters would you invite, and why?

Whoa, big question. Let’s see…Merry and Pippin, because they’re good at Food, the Doctor because he makes any party instantly awesome, Gandalf because the guy seriously needs to take a break, All The Valar, and Batman because he’s rich and would pay for it all.

6. What is the most shocking thing you have ever witnessed?

It may not count because I was too young to remember it, but 9/11.

7. If you had the chance to meet your favourite author/actor/actress/sports star/celebrity, who would it be, and why?

I’d hesitate between Christopher Lee, because he’s a fascinating individual (and also is seriously old so I need to take any chance I get to meet him), Billy Boyd and Dominic Monaghan because they’re really fun and interesting people, and David Tennant because [insert yet another variant of ‘this person is really cool’].

8. What is your favourite word?

Oh wow. How about I just list a few? I think I compiled a list a while back, let’s see…”sursurrus”, “hypotenuse”, “polyhedral”,”nightingale”,”phantasmagoria”, “crenellations”, “scoria”, “hyphen”, “dryad”, “equinox”, “argosy”, “peninsula”, “vale”, “anathema”, “tendril”, “serendipity”, “ululation”, “animosity”, “feral”, “dystopia”, “serene”, “briar”, “quoth”, “transmogrification”, “eerie”, “Bayesian”, “autodidact”, “phylactery”, “lithe”…to name a few.

9.  What is your favourite animal?

I hesitate between the cat and the peregrine falcon.

10. What is your aim for your blog? 

I started my blog as a sort of artistic outlet, I suppose. I have no idea where it’s going from here, but I hope for the best.

 

Now on to the nominations! Unfortunately, I don’t read very many blogs, so I could only find six to link to that were under 200 followers. Links and such:

Comics and Commentary by Dexter Morrill : Comics. Superhero style.

Wasting Talent: an excellent artist, focusing mainly on pencil sketches.

Child of the Island: Cool/crazy/weird/awesome homemade fairy tales.

Dragons in the Kitchen: Tips for aspiring Dungeons and Dragons DMs.

Majora: Actually a really cool project: this guy is making a Majora’s Mask opera.

KC Rivers: An excellent writer with excellent taste.

 

And here are my ten questions for these guys:

1)What is your favourite book?

2)What was your favorite fairy tale as a child?

3)Who are your two favourite characters from your favourite book, and who would win in a fight?

4) What fictional land/country/place would you most like to visit?

5)If you were a superhero, what would your power be, what would your sibling’s/best friend’s power be, and who would win in a fight?

6)If you had to invite three real-life and three fictional characters to a game of laser tag, who and why? (and which team would win?)

7)What’s the best/most creative/most insane/funniest practical joke you ever played or saw played on someone?

8)If your dog had superpowers, what would they be and would you keep it a secret?

9)What is your blog’s goal?

10)Who would win in a fight: theoretical superhero you or your theoretical superhero dog?

I look forward to the answers! ;D

Sheikah

About Sheikah

Drawing stuff yeah

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Wow! Yet again another ‘way to go!’. My favourite granddaughter…and also my only one.

    G.B.

  2. Congrats! (Nice list of words, BTW.)

    Have you tapped into Stephen R. Donaldson, yet? Tolkien has the sub-theme that ‘absolute power corrupts’ — even Galadriel (and Faramir) turn it down. (Did we once discuss how the movie played that? How it bothered me that movie Faramir needed to be shown that accepting the ring was a Bad Idea whereas book Faramir just knew?)

    Donaldson answers Tolkien with a contrary idea: that power can be, must sometimes be, wielded in the name of good. But be warned: Donaldson is one of the darkest writers I’ve read. Despair and loss are major components of the books; they make LotR look like a light-hearted romp. Most readers hate the main character Thomas Convenant (rightfully so), even though he is the “hero” of the tale. It wasn’t until the third reading that I got past the loathing to really see the story. But, especially given your list of words, I think you might find much to appreciate. Donaldson also has a stunning vocabulary and a fascinating way of describing things (a bit too much in the first books, but he settles down as he gains writing experience). No question they are the meatiest fantasy books I know.

    I touched on the books in this blog article:
    http://logosconcarne.com/2012/08/18/sttos-tas-tng-ent/

  3. Nice answers, New Zealand would be a cool place to live 🙂

  4. Coolness. ;-D I feel ya about all LotR-related stuff. I’m also obsessed with Sherlock and Star Wars. 😛

  5. Dude: as a Kiwi expat who has seen… all but the southernmost one-eighth of the country, I can honestly say that there are *no* real deserts in New Zealand. Sorry. About the rest of it you’re right, though.

  6. Holy wow, I just now saw this. Thanks for the nomination! I’ve been without the Precious, er, I mean my laptop for almost two weeks now because it caught a nasty virus and had to be wiped. *sigh* I’m still waiting for them to get it all cleaned up and get back to me. So anyway, wasn’t ignoring you! Just no internet except when I’m at work or friends’ houses. 😛

  7. Apologies for the delay.

    I… don’t know 10 bloggers. I created the Majora blog for a steady flow of news on the project, I don’t really look around the “blogosphere.” 😛

    Does that disqualify me? Also, if every nominee must nominate ten more people, doesn’t that make the list of nominees infinite?

    Regardless, until the confirmation of my qualification and of my ability to actually post about this, here are my answers:

    1)What is your favourite book?
    Alice in Wonderland

    2)What was your favorite fairy tale as a child?
    Alice in Wonderland!

    3)Who are your two favourite characters from your favourite book, and who would win in a fight?
    The Mad Hatter and the Queen of Hearts. She would have him promptly beheaded.

    4) What fictional land/country/place would you most like to visit?
    Termina.

    5)If you were a superhero, what would your power be, what would your sibling’s/best friend’s power be, and who would win in a fight?
    I would have complete control of time. They would have the power of conceding defeat.

    6)If you had to invite three real-life and three fictional characters to a game of laser tag, who and why? (and which team would win?)
    Justin Bieber, the genetic fusion of the Westboro Baptist Church, and the personification of Fox News VS James Bond, Fox McCloud, and Lara Croft. They’re real lasers, and the first team has no weapons.

    7)What’s the best/most creative/most insane/funniest practical joke you ever played or saw played on someone?
    Telekinetic Coffee Shop Surprise.

    8)If your dog had superpowers, what would they be and would you keep it a secret?
    He would have the power to give me and only me total control of time. I would indeed keep it a secret.

    9)What is your blog’s goal?
    To show news about and promote Majora, an opera I’m writing based on Majora’s Mask.

    10)Who would win in a fight: theoretical superhero you or your theoretical superhero dog?
    I have no reason to fight my dog.

    • Hah — I quite literally laughed out loud! Well done, sir!
      You don’t absolutely have to nominate ten people for an award, I certainly didn’t. I get the distinct impression that the entire purpose of the award is to make small bloggers feel special/ask hilarious questions. So to answer your questions: No it does not and Yes, that’s the idea.

HEY! We're LISTENING! Share your Thoughts

