Liebster Award!


 

liebster121

How on earth I ever got nominated for a Liebster Award not once, but twice, I will never know. This time, I was nominated by the stuponfucious coruscantbookshelf. Anyway, there seem to be a few different versions of the award out there, so here’s the rules again:

-blog must have <1000 followers

-nominee must answer 11 questions

-nominee must give 11 random facts about themselves

-nominee must nominate 5-11 other people and ask them 11 questions

 

So, answering time:

1. Which do you prefer: Old or New Republic, and why? (That’s Episodes I-III and IV-VI respectively, for the old people out there.)

Aargh, it’s been years plural since I last saw Star Wars…Um, New Republic, because [clever reason].

2. Which do you prefer: Old or New Testament, and why?

As a Christian I’m not sure I’m even allowed to have a favourite, but I’ll go with Old because while the New Testament is the story of the one most awesome hero of all time, but the Old Testament is about loads and loads of lesser-but-still-incredibly-awesome heroes. If that makes any sense.

3. Who is your favorite actor/actress absolutely of all time?

Uh-oh, a favourites question. I can never answer these. Uhhhh…David Tennant! Patrick Steward! Christopher Lee! Ian McKellan! Billy Boyd! Dominic Monaghan! Cate Blanchett! Richard O’Brien! Sigourney Weaver! Paul Atreides! KHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!

4. This one seems to be part of the rules: Why do you blog?

Because People seem to like to see my artwork, and I have never been one to inconvenience People.

5. If you could live anywhere in this world other than where you do, where would you choose? Practicality aside.

Well, I said New Zealand last time I was asked this question, but “practicality aside”…I think that New Zealand would still be up there, but I’d also think living in Finland —  or even Longyearbyen — would be kinda cool, just to be up north where there’s still snow and you can see the lights. Or maybe just Scotland, I don’t know.

6. Favorite dictionary: Oxford, Webster, Cambridge, Chambers, Collins – what? And why?

Okay, first of all: you do realise than something like 0.2% of the population even has an opinion on this? That being said, Oxford, and I have no flipping idea why.

7. For those that write for fun: how many plot bunnies (story ideas) do you have on the go right now? How many do you think will get finished?

Oh wow. I’m not sure there’s even a number for that. In terms of the near and immediate future, though, I can only think of two that are developed enough to realistically come to fruition: a sci-fi novella set, like, not a century in the future, and a comic whose plot I can’t really describe in a short space (and also, if I actually ever get around to drawing it, spoilers).

8. What’s your opinion of fictitious superheroes?

I’m not sure I understand the question. Like Marvel and DC superheroes? I think their main problem is that they don’t just kill the bad guy. I mean, I get that good guys aren’t supposed to kill people, but since the villains just keep breaking out of incarceration it would be a lot more practical in the long run.

9. What’s your opinion of fictitious everyday heroes?

This makes even less sense to me…Like heroes of non-fantasy/sci-fi books? Or the main characters on cop shows and stuff? If it’s the first, then…I don’t know, they’re just people, doing people stuff. It depends on the character. If it’s the second, then they get points for being brave, but lose points for falling prey to obvious clichés. (Unless they’re Sherlock Holmes or something, but that should go without saying.)

10. What’s your opinion of factitious everyday heroes? (Do not quote Sherlock!)

I looked up the definition of factitious and it basically means the same thing as fictitious. I’m starting to get the feeling that you couldn’t think of any good questions and just made stuff up.

11. Have you ever been given this award before? If so how many times?

Yes. Once.

Okay, that was slightly harder than the last time. Well, on to the random facts.

Fact: I get really mad when people mispronounce words, but mispronounce quite a few myself. (Comeuppance. Co-MEW-pence. Go figure.)

Fact: I am fighting an ongoing territorial war to the death with my hair. This war has been going on for the past fifteen years.

Fact: I realised recently that I am currently living somewhere between the 60s and the 80s. I noticed this when I made a Rocky Horror joke and no-one got it.

Fact: Continuing the thought from the previous fact, I can’t stop listening to David Bowie. And I mean, not like now and then, I mean like Space Oddity, over and over and over again. Is there a help line or something?

Fact: The only Zelda game I ever really finished was Ocarina of Time. I have like fifty games, not just Zelda games, suspended in Limbo, right before the final boss/dungeon/quest. So many I can’t even count. The good news is that I’ve managed to turn my attention and effort towards one game in particular, and am focusing on finishing that one. The bad news is that this game is Skyrim. In retrospect this was probably a very poor decision.

Fact: The Sharks are objectively cooler than the Jets, and I am ashamed of being familiar enough with the story concerned to formulate this opinion.

Fact: I think spiders are really cool, but at the same time have arachnophobia. This probably shouldn’t be physically possible.

Fact: Going back to Space Oddity, I am patiently waiting for an opportunity to use the line “Ground Control to Major Tom” on my friend Tom. Again, though, I don’t think anybody would get the reference.

Fact: I never took drawing lessons. All that I know is from personal experience, as well as a few things reverse-engineered from artists such as Michael Krahulik or Der-shing Helmer. (Of Penny Arcade and The Meek respectively.)

Fact: I am entering that time of life when all the big important exams come within a three-or-four year period, and I have absolutely no idea how any of them work.

Fact: I by no means have kept a tally, but I think that there is only one book which I have read more than four times over, and ironically enough it’s a Harry Potter rationality fanfic. It’s absolute genius, you actually learn things, and you can read it over at Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality.

Huh, those facts were rather more random than anticipated.

Aaaand now to shove the burden of answering question onto people who aren’t me! I’m glad the minimum is five and not ten, I really don’t know that many blogs.

Sweating to Mordor: dude analyses Lord of the Rings day by day, in book time as in real time. It’s awesome and dedicated, and you will Learn Things.

Grumpy Elrond:  It’s basically fanfiction written from the point of view of an incredibly cynical Elrond. I guess I was surprised with how well it was written, and yes, I laugh out loud when I read it.

The Upstairs Archives: You may or may not already know Erin as the author of Bound to the Flame, which I’ve done a couple illustrations for. Real good stuff, check it out!

Logos con Carne: Talks about all kinds of stuff, actually. Human nature and stuff. Not so deep that you can’t understand it, and absolutely worth reading.

In Somnis Veritas: I dunno, I just like reading about other people’s dreams.

K, now questions. Last time I couldn’t think of anything and just pulled really obscure who-would-win-in-a-fight questions out of a wombat’s ass, and only one person answered. Lesson learned.

1. Why do you blog/What is your goal for your blog?

2. Out of all the established fictional realms you know of — Middle-Earth, Narnia, etc. — pick one you’d like to live and one you wouldn’t want to live in.

3. Why those two? (I admit this is probably cheating, making this a separate question.)

4. Where on planet Earth would you most like to live?

5. Which film adaptation do you think is the most faithful to the original book? Why?

6. Which adaptation is the least faithful? Why?

7. If you had the chance to make one event in history not-happen, which and why? And don’t say “the Holocaust”, that’s just too obvious.

8. If you were in a band, what would you name it? Unless you ARE in a band, in which case come up with a different name for a hypothetical other band.

9. What is your favourite book?

10. Of all the characters in your favourite book, whose life would you rather lead?

11. Kirk or Picard? (If you can’t answer this question, that’s fine. There are those who consider that the RIGHT answer.)

So there you go!

-Sheikah

About Sheikah

Drawing stuff yeah

Posted on May 9, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Factitious is real-life (last time I checked) fictitious is in stories.

    • Hmm. I found the definition as “artificially created or developed”, so we must have looked in different places.

      • It’s one of those weirdly counter-intuitive words that almost means the opposite of what it seems to mean, but it comes from a Latin word meaning “artificial.” It does have a secondary sense of “counterfeit” or “fake” (a specific sense of “artificial”).

        The question, thus, might be interpreted to mean, “What do you think of artificially created fake heroes?” (Such as, for example, “Joe the plumber.”)

  2. Wow, Sheikah, I’m honored you consider my blog “absolutely worth reading” (if only others did)! I’ve been needing something nice to happen for a while. This will do nicely, thank you very muchly!

  3. P.S. Mispronounced words…. until I actually heard someone say it, I thought “paradigm” was pronounced “pah-RAD-a-jim”! 😀

  4. There are no rules about tag-backs on the Internet. Hah! So, I thought I’d tag you with the “You Might Be A Writer If” tag. Details here:
    http://erinkenobi2893.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/you-might-be-a-writer-if/
    ;-D

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | Logos con carne

HEY! We're LISTENING! Share your Thoughts

