Good Grief, ‘Nother Liebster Award


Blimey, these things are just going ’round like a fatal disease. I was nominated by Erin this time. Obligatory rules:

liebsterawardrules

 

Haha yeah no, I’m not linking anyone because bleh, I’m tired. Alright, let’s get this over with. Bring on the questions!

 

1. Why do you blog? (It’s always on there, and who am I to break tradition?)

I like sharing. It makes me feel warm ad fuzzy like I’m being hugged by rainbow gummy bears. Haha psyche It’s because I’m a showoff.

2. What do you think of every night to help you go to sleep?

I make up short stories in my head. Often they revolve around two characters facing some trial, like I dunno, they’re captured by some dread sorcerer and have to escape. Hey, I didn’t say the plots were in any way complicated, it’s just brain candy.

3. What sorts of movies do you dislike? (And don’t just say violent, gory ones, since that’s a given. Or should be.)

Romantic comedies, definitely. I just can’t bring myself to even remotely care about these random people’s pathetic love lives.

4. Do you still keep your imaginary friends around? (Most writers say yes.) If so, what are they like?

Not really, actually. I’m not sure I’ve ever really had an imaginary friend. I remember pretending to have imaginary friends when I was five, because I’d heard that that was what little girls did. But it’s always really just been me living inside my head. Now, if you’d asked if I pictured the different aspects of my mind living inside my head, that would be something I could answer.

5. Do you have imaginary friends who seem to have lives and minds of their own? What are their personalities like?

For the sake of answering the question, I’m going to go ahead and answer this question as though you were asking about the whole aspects-of-me thing and not actual imaginary friends.

I basically picture my head as the bridge of the Enterprise-D, the one from ST:TNG, only with vines growing everywhere and sunlight streaming through the broken glass of the ceiling. My conscious mind is sitting in the captain’s chair, and sitting at the different stations are the different part of my mind like Memory, Instinct, Emotion. Fashion Sense has been reported missing for about a decade, and Sexual Attraction is crying into her sparkly dress somewhere in a dark, locked basement.

6. Do you have imaginary friends who sit around and comment as you write? What are their names?

Again, no, not really. Moving on.

7. Do you have a designated “Muse”? (I have Kysherin.)

Um. I’m not entirely sure what this question is supposed to mean. I think I know what a Muse is, in Greek mythology I mean…If this is another formulation of the whole ‘imaginary friends’ question, then I think you already know the answer.

8. What outside forces and events have had the greatest impact on your outlook?

Like my outlook in life? Whether I’m a cynist or an optimist? There haven’t really been any “major” events in my life, if that’s what you’re talking about…I guess moving from the backwater village where I grew up to a city where they actually speak English helped a lot, I actually have friends now. And I guess there have been a few people I’ve met who have given me a sense of the different perspectives you can have on life? Really, I think the things that have had the greatest impact on the way I think are books. I started bulldozing through the Discworld series when I was eight, I think that’s when I truly started to grow up.

9. Do you have a place (or activity) that helps you think better? When, what, and where?

Uh, drawing, really. Emotional problems? Draw. Masssive workload? Procrastinate. Draw. Tired after a long day, but can’t fall asleep? Turn on that Bowie. Draw. Then eat something, then draw some more.

10. What are your favorite songs to work to?

Depends. Lindsey Stirling is good because there aren’t any words to distract me, it’s just endless beautiful violin rock. I’m a big Jack Johnson fan, he’s good unless you’re writing fantasy. You may have noticed that I’ve been listening to a lot of David Bowie recently, but with his stuff I like to just sit and focus on the lyrics, it’s more of a Stop-Relax sort of thing than a Help You Focus thing.

11. What is the worst attack of plot bunnies you’ve ever had?

Every waking moment of my life.

 

Eleven facts! This is going to be tricky.

 

1. I can count my friends on the fingers of one hand. One, Two, Three-Four, Aaaand yeah okay she makes Five. FOREVER ALONE

2. I tend to focus on trivial questions such as, “Does Thranduil go visit Elrond sometimes? Did Arwen ever have to babysit Thranduil’s brattish little kid? Or was Legolas actually really easy to manage when he was little? Elves reach adulthood at the age of fifty, so if Legolas was under 100 when he was drafted into the Fellowship, and he did go for family visits in Rivendell, would he have met child-Aragorn? Would he have met Gilraen? Would Gilraen have babysitted him?” Then answering all the questions and integrating them into my headcanon. (Yes. Yes. Absolutely not. Probably not. Maybe? Haha no.)

3. I don’t have any cool mutations. I wish I did, but nope, brown eyes, brown hair, nothing unusual.

4. I get mad when people say “satellite” and they’re thinking of “satellite dish”. That word you keep using, it does not mean what you think it means.

5. Quotes! I quote stuff all the time. But often nobody gets it.

6. “What do you think you know and how do you think you know it” is possibly the most useful proverb (proverb?) ever.

7. It’s past midnight and I can’t count to eleven.

About Sheikah

Drawing stuff yeah

Posted on June 7, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Bill McKechnie

    Another ‘way to go!’

  2. 😛 Thanks. I’m currently waiting for my mom’s pics to download off her camera onto my computer… *sigh*
    Hmmm… maybe I can download the pictures I took that she wants onto her memory card? I will have to try that, though I wouldn’t want to put a virus on her card by accident, but no, those files can’t possibly be corrupted, I just pulled them from my own camera’s card! Gah! I wish Kysherin would just shut up. (Kysherin is the voice monologing inside my brain, spitting out worries when I don’t need them and annoying me with plot bunnies. Grrr.)

    • Huh, people actually have those? I just call that voice ‘hindbrain’ or ‘otherme’ or basically ‘non-conscious variation of myself’.

      • Well, I started calling it a Muse because I was making fun of Greek Mythology and played on words (“daimon,” meaning just a spirit/god/whatever vs “demon”, which is a good descriptor of what Kysherin is. She’s a beast, all right.)
        There are only a couple of tolerable Greek heroes (I have a preference for Odysseus, go figure 😛 ), while Norse/Scandinavian mythology has BEOWULF. Sorry, I just like Norse mythology better. Maybe it has something to do with “Sigurd and Gudrun.” I don’t know. 😛

        • Ha! I always liked Odysseus, he went through twenty years of the worst crap imaginable and basically never complained 😀 and wow, Nose Mythology is some of my favourite, right up there with Celtic!

          • Yeah X-P At least he got to go home to Penelope in the end. I love Penelope. She’s so brave and clever! 😀
            BEOWULF IS AWESOME! X-D

            • I guess I’ll have to read it then!
              One of my plot bunnies involves Loki, Thor and the human incarnation of Vidar in a Neil Gaiman-esque quest to slay Fenrir. I have no idea where the story is going but Loki is just so awesome I don’t care 😛

              • Hmmm. I’ve never heard of Neil Gaiman before. :-S
                Interesting! I had an idea for a story. I can’t remember the name of the heroine at the moment, but she’s been cursed by Odin so she’s a werewolf (they weren’t always evil, originally). It takes place just when Christianity is being introduced to those areas, and she’s a Christian (which is why she was cursed); the Norse “gods” were actually originally powerful spirits (perhaps angels) who were assigned to protect the Norse people by God, but the Norse forgot about the one true God and began to worship their protectors, leading to the Norse “gods” growing proud and deciding to defy the one true God. It’s my spin on the common “Christianity vs. paganism” plot, in an attempt to put the other side of the story out there, since there are so few stories like this. What do you think? 🙂

  1. Pingback: What, again? | Against the Shadows

HEY! We're LISTENING! Share your Thoughts

